American Athletic Conference Media Day lineup

American Athletic Conference Media Day lineup




Thirty-nine student-athletes to take part in The American’s annual preseason event



PROVIDENCE, R.I. –  The American Athletic Conference has announced the lineup of 39 student-athletes who will be on-hand in Newport, Rhode Island, next week for the conference’s annual Summer Kickoff and Media Days.


The 39 student-athletes will join The American’s 12 head coaches at Gurney’s Newport Resort and Marina July 17-18 for the first formal event of the 2017 football season. Legendary sports announcer Verne Lundquist will serve as the host of the event.


The American, which is the only FBS conference that returns its offensive and defensive players of the year from 2016, will have both of those players in attendance next week as USF quarterback Quinton Flowers and UCF linebacker Shaquem Griffin are scheduled to head to Newport.


The American’s contingent includes 11 players who were named to the 2016 all-conference team, including five returning first-team selections. Three players who have been named to the 2017 Maxwell Award preseason watch list will be in attendance (Flowers, Memphis quarterback Riley Ferguson and Tulsa running back D’Angelo Brewer) as will two players named to the Bednarik Award watch list (Griffin and SMU defensive end Justin Lawler).


Live coverage of The American’s Summer Kickoff and Media Days will begin Monday, July 17, at 7 p.m. ET, as the American Digital Network originates from the event’s signature New England-style clambake. Hali Oughton will be joined by Andy Katz for red carpet-style coverage and interviews of arriving guests.


Coverage continues Tuesday, July 18, at 8:30 a.m. ET, on the American Digital Network with the announcement of the conference’s preseason media poll. Verne Lundquist will introduce commissioner Mike Aresco at 9 a.m. and will moderate a pair of roundtable discussions – a session with the East Division coaches at 9:45 a.m., and a segment with the West Division coaches at 11 a.m. Hali Oughton and Andy Gresh will anchor the Tuesday coverage.


A two-hour recap of the Summer Kickoff will be on ESPN3 Tuesday at 2 p.m. ET. Mike Couzens and Matt Chatham will anchor ESPN’s coverage. SiriusXM College Sports Nation (channel 84) will originate live from Newport Tuesday, beginning at 1 p.m.


Credential requests from accredited media members may be made through Thursday, July 13, at this link.






subject to change





Head Coach Scott Frost

Jordan Akins               TE

Aaron Evans                OL

Shaquem Griffin          LB

Jamiyus Pittman         NG



Head Coach Luke Fickell

Mike Boone                 RB

Korey Cunningham     OL

Jaylyin Minor              LB



Head Coach Randy Edsall

Luke Carrezola           DE

Junior Joseph              LB

Tommy Myers             TE


East Carolina           

Head Coach Scottie Montgomery

Jimmy Williams           WR

Jordan Williams          LB



Head Coach Major Applewhite

Steven Dunbar            WR

Matthew Adams         LB



Head Coach Mike Norvell

Genard Avery              LB

Riley Ferguson            QB

Anthony Miller            WR

Jonathan Cook            DB


Head Coach Ken Niumatalolo

Darryl Bonner             RB

D.J. Palmore                LB



Head Coach Charlie Strong

Quinton Flowers         QB

Auggie Sanchez          LB



Head Coach Chad Morris

Evan Brown                 C

Justin Lawler              DE

Courtland Sutton        WR

Braeden West             RB

Jordan Wyatt              CB



Head Coach Geoff Collins

Sharif Finch                DE

Leon Johnson              OL

Keith Kirkwood           WR

Nick Sharga                FB



Head Coach Willie Fritz

Ade Aruna                   DE

Sherman Badie           RB

Dontrell Hilliard          RB

Parry Nickerson         CB



Head Coach Philip Montgomery

D’Angelo Brewer         RB

Jesse Brubaker          DE

Evan Plagg                  OT

Kerwin Thomas           CB