Temple and Georgia Tech Announce First-Ever Football Series

 Temple and Georgia Tech will meet on the gridiron for the first time in the storied history of the two football programs with the announcement today of a home-and-home agreement between the schools.


Georgia Tech is the fourth Atlantic Coast Conference member school to agree to a home-and-home series with the 2016 American Athletic Conference champions.  The other three ACC schools are Boston College, Duke and Miami.


Temple will host Georgia Tech on Sept. 28, 2019, at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia. The Owls will play the Yellow Jackets in Atlanta on Sept. 20, 2025, at Bobby Dodd Stadium.


Head coach Geoff Collins, who grew up outside Atlanta and had worked at Georgia Tech from 1999-2001 and again in 2006, knows the value of playing and recruiting in that area.


“We talk about dominating our recruiting footprint, which is obviously Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, D.C.,” said Collins. “My experience in the SEC and the ACC makes Georgia and Florida very important areas for recruiting as well. That’s why the Georgia Tech and Miami games are integral parts of establishing our national presence for Temple football.”


The addition of the Georgia Tech series gives Temple Football 18 non-conference games against Power 6 conference schools through the 2028 season.  Temple will play at least one non-conference Power 6 school in each of the next nine seasons starting with the 2017 opener at Notre Dame (Sept. 2).


Temple also has future home-and-home series scheduled with Oklahoma (Big 12), Maryland (Big 10) and Rutgers (Big 10).


In order to fit these games into the schedule, Temple canceled its previously announced game against Army in 2019.
Here is a listing of the Owls’ non-conference schedules through 2028:

2017 – at Notre Dame (Sept. 2), Villanova (Sept. 9), UMass (Sept. 16), at Army (Oct. 21)
2018 – Villanova (Sept. 1), Buffalo (Sept. 8), at Maryland (Sept. 15), at Boston College (Sept. 29)
2019 – Bucknell (Aug. 31), Maryland (Sept. 14) at Buffalo (Sept. 21), Georgia Tech (Sept 28)
2020 – at Miami (Sept. 5), Idaho (Sept. 12), Rutgers (Sept. 19)
2021 – at Rutgers (Sept. 4), Boston College (Sept. 18)
2022 – at Duke (Sept. 3), Rutgers (Sept. 17)
2023 – at Rutgers (Sept. 9), Miami (Sept. 23)

2024 – at Oklahoma (Aug. 31)

2025 – Oklahoma (Sept. 13), at Georgia Tech (Sept. 20)

2028 – at Oklahoma (Sept. 2), Duke (Sept. 16)